The limits of Europe: The future of the EU’s relations with its Eastern neighbours

12. December 2014


When twelve new members joined the European Union in 2004 and 2007, the borders of the Union shifted further towards the East. This paper examines the relationship of the EU with its Eastern Neighbourhood; the six Eastern Partnership countries – Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, and Ukraine – and Russia. Special attention is paid to the potential opportunities arising out of these relationships from the youth perspective of FutureLab Europe and the measures that its young participants deem necessary in order for these opportunities to be seized.

In this position paper, FutureLab Europe participants argue that EU relations with Eastern partners offer many substantial benefits to both sides but in order for these benefits to become a reality, the EU should change the way it approaches its Eastern partners.

Download the publication:

This position paper was discussed at a Europe@Debate in Helsinki, see how it went here.